Cemetery Solemnity

Friday I went with the Americans who are in an exchange with my lycée to visit Normandy. We visited the American cemetery on the coast where many of the soldiers killed in the 2nd World War D-day battle are buried. The sight of the gravestones that stretched across the fields, each one marking the burial spot of some fallen warrior moved me deeply. Some of men are truly unsung heroes because they don’t even have their name to mark their gravestone.

I’m grateful for the men that gave their lives so bravely to ensure that we today live in the freedom we do. Visiting the cemetery was a humbling experience and it made me wish that my generation appreciated our freedoms more instead of taking them for granted and complaining because we don’t have the latest gadget that’s popular. The sense of solemnity and gravity that the cemetery evoked made me realize that justice does not come without cost.

 

 

 

About mcfeeney

"We shall not cease from exploration And the end of all our exploring Will be to arrive where we started And know the place for the first time." -T.S. Eliot
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cemetery Solemnity

  1. Charla Feeney says:

    What a moving photo and thoughtful words! How appropriate for this President’s Day in the U.S. as we remember our leaders of the past…nicely done, Mary!

  2. F.G.Feeney, Jr says:

    Mary,
    I’m very happy for your experiece in visiting Normandy.
    Both of your gradfathers are veterans, WWII and Korea, respectfully.
    As I grew up I often refected with admiration and gratitude what Dad and my other uncles did. They were part of what’s been termed the “Greatest Generation.”
    Love, Dad

  3. . says:

    I agree, super appropriate & thoughtful words. And great photo 🙂

Leave a comment